Friendship Settings

Facilitating relationships between members is essential to building a successful social network. There are several different types of connections that can exist between members. Use this page to determine how members will associate with each other. Note that although we refer to these relationships as "friendships" in this control panel, you should use a word that best fits with your social network's theme. For example, if you are running a business-oriented social network, you may want to change this word to "connections".

Who can members invite to become their friends? Note that if you select "nobody", none of the other settings on this page will apply.

Your social network can allow either one-way or two-way friendships. The default setting is two-way friendships as this is typical for most social networks. One-way friendships mean that when MemberA adds MemberB, MemberB will appear on MemberA's friend list but NOT the reverse.

Your social network can allow either verified or unverified friendship requests. The default setting is verified friendship requests as this is typical for most social networks. Unverified friendship requests mean that when MemberA adds MemberB as a friend, MemberA and MemberB will immediately become friends without any confirmation.

Using friend lists, your members can organize their friends under various labels that they create. They can then use these lists to send messages to multiple friends and customize their privacy settings.